top of page
  • Writer's pictureHailey Thompsen

Daguerreotype

A Daguerreotype is a style of photography that was formalized in 1839 by the photographer Louis-Jacques-Mande Daguerre. A Daguerreotype is a long process that includes many chemicals, a steel plate, and one photograph. Originally, this style of photography took a very long time so most people did not smile because they could not keep the same pose for 15 minutes. Recently to recreate a Daguerreotype you simply take a photograph, choose a steel image and overlay it onto photoshop to create the same stains.

For me this style of photography was not too difficult, but it is not my favorite type. To make sure it fit the time period I made my models wore plain shirts with no logos and took out any forms of technology. I overlaid a scratched steel plate over my image and placed an orange filter at 14 percent opacity.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page