top of page
  • Writer's pictureHailey Thompsen

Street Art vs. Vandalism

Many artists take to the street creating art that brings attention to certain subjects, such as social issues, or to just express themselves. However, most street artists do not have legal permission to create these art pieces that many viewers consider to be vandalism. A question I often ask myself is, "what is the difference between street art using graffiti or paint versus vandalizing property?" Typically when I am walking down streets and I see murals or other forms of street art I think it is art, but if that artist does not have permission it is technically vandalism but who can draw a straight line between the two. Banksy is a known street artist who is criticized constantly for vandalizing buildings, but the art world views his work as beautiful art pieces that make statements about society. Throughout downtown Los Angeles, San Pedro, and Wilmington I photographed what I saw as street art and plain old vandalism.


We Can Do It!

I consider this piece to be street art because it is an allusion to the famous piece, "We Can Do It!" by J. Howard Miller. This piece has a deeper meaning then just the surface, showing that the youth can accomplish things larger than themselves, just like Rosie the Riveter who convinced women to join the work force during the second world war.


Train Taggers

I consider this to be vandalism due to the lack of creativity, there is no statement being made, and they had no permission to graffiti on the trains at the port. Taggers are usually gang members who are "marking their territory" by simply writing their name or demonize other artists works.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page